Here is a list of the main local residential developments:
Located in the heart of the Laurentides, Morin-Heights enjoys nature’s gift of the Rivière-à-Simon plus the well-known Corridor Aérobique, a favourite location for outdoor activities in both summer and winter. It is part of the Municipalité Régionale de Comté des Pays-d’en-Haut* (MRC) and is situated in the Argenteuil constituency.
In fact, the sports lovers will discover that Morin-Heights is an ideal place to be, all year round. Those who prefer winter sports are spoiled for choice: Morin-Heights offers two outdoor skating rinks, alpine skiing, snowboarding, cross-country skiing and snowshoeing trails.
The cross-country ski enthusiasts will enjoy one of the best cross-country ski networks maintained in the Laurentides, with 165 kilometres of inter-connected trails accessible through our Corridor Aérobique.
Although Morin-Heights originally developed its economy around the forestry industry, it’s the outdoor recreation industry that prevails today. In line with this new dedication to recreation/tourism related activity, Morin-Heights has developed into a hospitable and diversified environment.
A few historical highlights
The local legend has it that an engineer named Morin came to explore this area of the Laurentians and hired a guide by the name of Simon, a native from Oka. The town and the river at the heart of the village would respectively bear their names.
In reality, Augustin-Norbert Morin (1803-1865), deputy (1830-1854), Minister and land commissioner (1842-1843), founder of the newspaper La Minerve (1826) and Superior Court Judge (1855-1859) bought 1600 hectares of land in the Abercromby township where he built a house, wood-cutting and flour mills, thus contributing to the development of the region. By 1852, the name Morin was extended to the entire township, which included at the time Morin-Heights, Val-Morin and Ste-Adèle.
The township was incorporated as a municipality in 1855. The English pioneers of Irish origin came from Lachute and Wentworth. The pioneers of francophone descendants arrived from St-Jérôme and St-Eustache.
The impact of the coexistence of two origins of settlers, who were to develop and build the municipality, has perpetuated and remains to this day.
The name of Morin Flats was first given to the portion which extends to the river bank, but in 1896 the village formally acquired the name of Morin Heights when the railroad company, through the colonization of Montfort, connected the municipality with Montreal.
A section of this railroad track has today become the very popular bicycle path and cross-country ski trail known as the Corridor Aérobique.
For details, visit the Morin Heights Historical Association’s web site
For your information.
All contracts of over $25 000 or orders from the same supplier totalling over $25 000 per year have to be made public.
Read the Policy regarding contracts
Click on the SEAO logo to activate the link to their web site
This is the Municipality’s Photo Galleries.
You can also access to Photo Archives from the previous web site.